The Mediterranean Wetlands Observatory, functioning under the umbrella of Tour du Valat and the Mediterranean Wetlands Initiative MedWet, published in October 2018 the new report Mediterranean Wetlands Outlook 2: Solutions for sustainable Mediterranean wetlands (MWO-2).

The MWO-2 updates the situation for Mediterranean wetlands since 2012, the year of publication of the MWO-1, which was the first regional indicator-based assessment of the status of wetlands and the challenges that they face.

This MWO-2, through its 16 indicator factsheets, provides regional support to the findings of the Ramsar Convention’s first Global Wetland Outlook (GWO): the State of the World’s Wetlands, to be issued at the 13th Meeting of Conference of the Contracting Parties to the Convention (COP13, Dubai, 21-29 October 2018).

The MWO-2 is based on the analysis of 16 indicators related to wetland biodiversity, the ecosystem services they provide, the threats they are facing, and the actions taken by society to conserve and to sustainably manage them.

The report presents the socio-economic situation and trends in Mediterranean countries and the benefits and values of Mediterranean wetlands, and includes key messages for decision-makers.

The MWO-2 underlines the consequences for a rapidly increasing human population and its well-being of the loss of wetland benefits. At the same time, it presents the positive responses offered by wetlands to benefit future generations of people and for biodiversity.

The evidence presented in the MWO-2 demonstrates that wetlands across the Mediterranean region continue to be threatened and destroyed by unsustainable human activities. The ongoing loss and degradation of wetlands impacts directly on human well-being and deprives future generations of the multiple benefits that they provide.

You can download the report (full version or factsheets and appendices only) hereunder.

L’Observatoire des Zones Humides Méditerranéennes (OZHM), fonctionnant sous l’égide de la Tour du Valat et de l’Initiative pour les zones humides méditerranéennes, MedWet, a publié en octobre 2018 le nouveau rapport Les zones humides méditerranéennes – Enjeux et perspectives 2 : solutions pour des zones humides méditerranéennes durables (MWO-2).

Le MWO-2 actualise la situation des zones humides méditerranéennes depuis 2012, année de publication du rapport MWO-1, a été la première évaluation régionale fondée sur des indicateurs de l’état des zones humides et des problèmes auxquels elles font face.

Ce rapport MWO-2 comprenant 16 fiches d’indicateurs, fournit un appui régional aux résultats du premier rapport de la Convention de Ramsar intitulé ‘’Perspectives mondiales pour les zones humides (GWO) : État mondial des zones humides et de leurs services à l’humanité’’, publié à l’occasion de la 13ème Session de la Conférence des Parties contractantes à la Convention (COP13, Dubaï, octobre 2018).

Le MWO-2 est basé sur l’analyse de 16 indicateurs liés relatifs à la biodiversité des zones humides, aux services écosystémiques qu’elles fournissent, aux menaces qui pèsent sur elles et aux mesures prises par la société pour les conserver et les gérer de manière durable.

Le rapport présente la situation socioéconomique et les tendances dans les pays méditerranéens, ainsi que les avantages et les valeurs des zones humides méditerranéennes. Il inclut également des messages clés à l’intention des décideurs.

Le MWO-2 souligne les conséquences de l’augmentation démographique rapide de la population humaine et son bien-être de la perte des avantages des zones humides. En même temps, il présente les réponses positives pour les zones humides peuvent bénéficier aux générations futures et à la biodiversité.

Les éléments présentés dans le rapport MWO-2 démontrent que les zones humides de la région méditerranéenne continuent d’être menacées et détruites par des activités humaines non durables.

La perte et la dégradation continuelles des zones humides ont des impacts directs sur le bien-être humain et privent les générations futures des avantages multiples qu’elles peuvent fournir.

Vous pouvez télécharger le rapport (version complète ou uniquement les fiches indicateurs et leurs annexes) ci-dessous.