General-public visits

The Tour du Valat can be visited several times a year even if, unlike many organisations in the Camargue, our main vocation is not to receive the general public. We are a research institute for the conservation of Mediterranean wetlands and owners of a 2921-hectare estate, much of which is listed as a restricted-access Regional Nature Reserve (the area is above all dedicated to the work of scientists and natural area managers, and to protecting the flora and fauna of the Camargue).

During the year, we do organise several general-public events, which are great opportunities to visit us:

  • On our Open Day, generally held on the nearest Sunday to 2 February to mark the occasion of World Wetlands Day, which celebrates the anniversary of the signing of the Ramsar Convention every year. On this day the Tour du Valat opens its doors and offers talks, video screenings, guided tours, and free-visit trails on the Estate. The date and programme are released several weeks in advance on our website and social networks, and in the local press;
  • For the Festival of the Camargue and Rhone Delta (generally in May), we offer several nature excursions, including one on the Tour du Valat Estate;
  • In partnership with the Nature Guides Office (BGN) guided visits to the heart of the Tour du Valat Regional Nature Reserve are organised from November to April, every second Saturday of the month). Visits must be booked in advance and you will be charged a fee. They are managed directly by the BGN: www.guide-nature.fr (in French) or +33 (0)6 95 90 70 48.
  • At the Petit Saint-Jean Estate (owned by the Tour du Valat), located in the western Camargue, guided visits are also organised from April to October by the Nature Guides Office (BGN). By reservation only: call the BGN at +33 (0)6 95 90 70 48. NB: the Petit Saint-Jean Estate is not open to the public apart from these visits;

The Friends of the Tour du Valat association also organises several thematic guided visits to the Tour du Valat Estate every year, reserved for its members.

In addition, two Tour du Valat sites are always freely accessible to the public:

  • The Le Verdier marshes, located north of the village of Le Sambuc on the D36, with a free-access trail and a hide to observe the Camargue fauna and flora in a restored and jointly managed former fish farming area;
  • The Étang du Grenouillet observation platform on the Fiélouse road from Le Sambuc linking the D36 to the Etang de Vaccarès, just north of the Tour du Valat.

Our general-public events are announced in advance on our website and social networks, and though the local media.

Would you like to be e-mailed the schedule of the general-public events organised by the Tour du Valat?

Activities for teachers and schoolchildren?

It is not the role of the Tour du Valat to receive school groups, but we work with a number of organisations in the Camargue that do:

Finally, the Arles and Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer tourist offices are also very good sources of information about possible activities in the Camargue.

How to get to the Tour du Valat?

The Tour du Valat is located in the Camargue, in the Bouches-du-Rhone department, about 30 km south of Arles.

GPS coordinates: 43.5089° N, 4.66757° E

By road

  • From Nîmes, Avignon, Aix-en-Provence, or Marseille via Arles: from Arles head towards Les Saintes Maries de la Mer then turn left toward Salin de Giraud on D36. Go through the village Le Sambuc. After about 800 m, take the first turn on the right (C136, Fiélouse du Sambuc). After three kms, just after the bridge over the canal (S-bend), continue straight on, up the Tour du Valat driveway. NB, there are no service stations on this route.
  • From Marseille by the Bac de Barcarin ferry: head towards Martigues on the A55, then Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhone, Salin de Giraud. Before reaching Port-Saint-Louis, take the D35 (on the right after the bridge) towards the Bac de Barcarin ferry (fare). After crossing the Rhone, go right towards Arles (D36) and continue for about 12 km. Before arriving in the village of Le Sambuc, turn left onto C136, Fiélouse du Sambuc. After three kms, just after the bridge over the canal (S-bend), continue straight on, up the Tour du Valat driveway.

By train

The nearest station is Arles, which can be reached by all the major train lines, or the Mediterranean TGV high-speed line, via Avignon, Marseille or Nîmes. From Arles railway station the ENVIA network’s n°10 bus line runs from Arles to Le Sambuc several times a day (see bus times).

By plane

The closest airport is Marseille-Marignane (65 km). There is a shuttle bus (every 30 min) linking Marseille-Marignane airport to Vitrolles SNCF railway station, from which there are trains to Arles.

 

For further

Nos visites à destination du grand public

Il est possible de visiter la Tour du Valat plusieurs fois par an,  même si contrairement à de nombreuses structures en Camargue notre vocation principale n’est pas d’accueillir le grand public. Nous sommes en effet un institut de recherche pour la conservation des zones humides méditerranéennes, propriétaire d’un domaine de 2921 hectares dont une grande partie est classée en Réserve naturelle régionale et dont l’accès est réglementé (cet espace est avant tout dédié aux travaux des scientifiques et gestionnaires d’espaces naturels, ainsi qu’à la protection de la faune et de la flore camarguaise).

Nous organisons au cours de l’année plusieurs manifestations grand public, autant d’occasions de nous rendre visite :

  • Lors de notre journée portes ouvertes, généralement le dimanche le plus proche du 2 février, à l’occasion des Journées mondiales des zones humides qui célèbrent chaque année l’anniversaire de la signature de la Convention Ramsar. Pendant cette journée la Tour du Valat ouvre ses portes et propose des conférences, des projections vidéo, des visites guidées et des circuits de visite libres sur son domaine. La date et le programme sont diffusés plusieurs semaines auparavant sur notre site internet et nos réseaux sociaux, ainsi que dans la presse locale ;
  • Lors du Festival Camargue et du delta du Rhône (généralement en mai) nous proposons plusieurs sorties nature, dont une sur le domaine de la Tour du Valat ;
  • En partenariat avec le Bureau des Guides Naturalistes (BGN), des visites guidées en plein cœur de la Réserve Naturelle Régionale de la Tour du Valat sont organisées de novembre à avril, tous les deuxièmes samedis de chaque mois. Ces  visites sont disponibles uniquement sur réservation et sont payantes. Elles sont gérées directement par le BGN : www.guide-nature.fr ou 06 95 90 70 48 ;
  • Sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean (propriété de la Tour du Valat) situé en Camargue gardoise, des visites guidées sont également organisées d’avril à octobre par le Bureau des Guides Naturalistes. Réservation uniquement auprès du BGN au 06 95 90 70 48. Nb : le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean n’est pas ouvert au public en-dehors de ces visites ;
  • Les Amis de la Tour du Valat organisent également plusieurs fois par an des visites guidés thématiques sur le domaine de la Tour du Valat, réservées aux adhérents de l’association.

Deux sites de la Tour du Valat sont également accessibles au public en permanence et en accès libre :

  • Les Marais du Verdier, situés au nord du village du Sambuc sur la D36 ; un parcours libre et un observatoire permettent d’y observer la faune et la flore camarguaises de cette ancienne zone piscicole restaurée et gérée collectivement ; Projet du Verdier.
  • L’observatoire de l’étang du Grenouillet situé sur la route de Fiélouse au Sambuc reliant la D36 à l’étang du Vaccarès, juste au nord de la Tour du Valat.

Nos manifestations à destination du grand public sont annoncées à l’avance sur notre site internet, nos réseaux sociaux, ainsi que par voie de presse dans les médias locaux.

Vous souhaitez recevoir par e-mail les programmes des manifestations grand public que la Tour du Valat organise ?

Quelles activités sont proposées aux enseignants et publics scolaires ?

La Tour du Valat n’a pas vocation à accueillir des groupes scolaires, mais travaille en partenariat avec un certain nombre d’organismes en Camargue susceptibles d’accueillir ces groupes :

Enfin les offices du tourisme d’Arles et des Saintes-Maries-de-la-Mer sont également de très bonnes sources d’information concernant aux activités possibles en Camargue.

Comment se rendre à la Tour du Valat ?

La Tour du Valat est localisée en Camargue dans le département des Bouches-du-Rhône, à environ 30 km au sud d’Arles.

Coordonnées GPS : 43.5089° N, 4.66757° E

Par la route

  • Depuis Nîmes, Avignon, Aix-en-Provence ou Marseille, via Arles : à Arles, prendre la direction des Saintes Maries de la Mer puis de Salin de Giraud par la D36. Traverser le village du Sambuc. Environ 800 m après celui-ci, emprunter la première route à droite (C136 de Fiélouse du Sambuc). Après trois km, à la sortie du pont sur le canal (virage en S), continuer tout droit sur le chemin de la Tour du Valat. Attention, il n’y a pas de station-service sur ce trajet.
  • Depuis Marseille par le bac de Barcarin : prendre la direction de Martigues via l’A55, puis de Port-Saint-Louis-du-Rhône – Salin de Giraud. Avant d’arriver à Port-Saint-Louis, emprunter la D35 (à droite après le pont) en direction du bac de Barcarin (péage). Après la traversée du Rhône, prendre à droite direction Arles (D36) et continuer pendant environ 12 km. Avant d’arriver au hameau du Sambuc, prendre à gauche la route C136 de Fiélouse du Sambuc. Après trois km, à la sortie du pont sur le canal (virage en S), continuer tout droit sur le chemin de la Tour du Valat.

Par le train

La gare la plus proche est située à Arles et relie toutes les grandes lignes ferroviaires, ou TGV Méditerranée jusqu’à Avignon, Marseille ou Nîmes. À partir de la gare d’Arles la ligne de bus n°10 du réseau ENVIA relie Arles au Sambuc plusieurs fois par jour (voir les horaires).

Par avion

L’aéroport de Marseille-Marignane (65 km) est le plus proche. Une navette (départ toutes les 30 min) relie l’aéroport de Marseille-Marignane à la gare SNCF de Vitrolles, à partir de laquelle des trains mènent à Arles.

 

Pour aller plus loin

Téléchargements