Conservation status and biodiversity trends in Mediterranean wetlands

Objectives

One fourth of Mediterranean biodiversity is closely linked to wetlands. It is therefore vital to halt the negative trends observed for wetland habitats and species. Our project focuses on the following three areas to achieve this goal:

  1. Producing knowledge on the status of species and ecosystems and identifying key sites for preserving biodiversity;
  2. Prioritising threats and assessing the effectiveness of conservation measures;
  3. Communicating this information to decision-makers in the form of indicators.

Actions and methodology

It is not easy to make a comprehensive report on the status of biodiversity in the Mediterranean Region where there are considerable geographical differences concerning the quantity and quality of the data available. While the countries in the European Union have generally started setting up nature observation and monitoring networks, the same is not true for some countries in North Africa, the Balkans, and the Middle East. In addition, there are several countries where waterbirds are counted but information on the conservation status and trends of other groups is much more incomplete.

Our studies for the Mediterranean Region are based on the abundance monitoring conducted for wetland vertebrate species. We dispose of a database with more than 50,000 entries, entered via participative science monitoring projects such as International Waterbird Censuses (more info) and scientific monitoring with papers published in specialist journals. These data are used to create indicators such as the Living Planet Index.

To make up for the lack of abundance monitoring, we decided to develop Mediterranean Red Lists in partnership with the International Union for the Conservation of Nature (IUCN). In the absence of quantitative data, expert opinions remain the best way to assess the conservation status of a species. When these assessments are repeated over time, it becomes possible to calculate a Red List Index, which provides a general trend. Another advantage is that the Red Lists can be established for species and ecosystems.

 

Distribution of wetland-dependent species in the Mediterranean Basin © N.Popoff

Results

The results obtained up to the present day indicate a certain recovery of waterbird populations, particularly of colonial species, which have benefitted from conservation actions aiming to reduce persecution and protect their habitats. These positive trends are the most obvious in Europe, where protection measures were established earlier and are more numerous than in the rest of the Mediterranean Region, for example the Bern Convention, the European directives on birds, habitats, wildlife, and flora, and the Ramsar Convention.

On the contrary, the Red Lists indicate highly worrying conservation statuses for freshwater fish, and for wetland plants, molluscs and amphibians. This result can be explained by the existence of numerous endemic species, a small geographic area, and/or the bad condition of the habitats (watercourses, temporary ponds) used by these species.

Team

  • Project leader: Thomas Galewski
  • Staff involved: Élie Gaget, Nadège Popoff
  • Date of project: since 2016

Partners

État de conservation et tendances de la biodiversité des zones humides méditerranéennes

Objectifs du projet

Un quart de la biodiversité méditerranéenne est étroitement liée aux zones humides. Il est donc primordial d’enrayer les tendances négatives observées sur les habitats humides et les espèces qui en dépendent. Pour atteindre cet objectif notre projet privilégie trois axes :

  1. La production de connaissance sur l’état des espèces et des écosystèmes et l’identification des sites-clés pour la conservation de la biodiversité ;
  2. La hiérarchisation des menaces et l’évaluation de l’efficacité des mesures de conservation ;
  3. La transmission de ces informations aux décideurs sous forme d’indicateurs.

Actions & méthodologie

Dresser le bilan de l’état de la biodiversité n’est pas chose aisée, dans une région méditerranéenne où il existe de fortes disparités géographiques concernant la quantité et la qualité des données disponibles. Si les pays de l’Union européenne ont généralement initié des réseaux d’observation et de suivis de leur nature, il n’en est pas de même pour certains pays d’Afrique du Nord, des Balkans ou du Moyen-Orient. D’autre part, si les oiseaux d’eau sont dénombrés dans plusieurs pays, l’information sur l’état de conservation et les tendances des autres groupes est quant à elle beaucoup plus parcellaire.

Pour nos analyses à l’échelle méditerranéenne, nous nous basons sur des suivis d’abondance réalisés sur des espèces de vertébrés des zones humides. Nous disposons ainsi d’une base de données de plus de 50 000 entrées, renseignées à partir de suivis de science participative tels que les Dénombrements internationaux des oiseaux d’eau (en savoir plus) ou de suivis scientifiques dont les résultats ont fait l’objet de publications. Ces données permettent la production d’indicateurs tels que l’indice Planète vivante.

Afin de pallier au manque de suivis d’abondance, nous avons décidé de développer des listes rouges méditerranéennes en partenariat avec l’Union internationale pour la conservation de la nature (UICN). En l’absence de données quantitatives, les avis d’experts restent le meilleur moyen pour évaluer l’état de conservation d’une espèce. Lors que ces évaluations sont répétées dans le temps il est alors possible de calculer un « indice liste rouge » qui fournit une tendance globale. Autre avantage, les listes rouges peuvent être établies à la fois pour des espèces et des écosystèmes.

Distribution des espèces dépendantes des zones humides dans le bassin méditerranéen © N.Popoff

Résultats

Les résultats obtenus jusqu’à présent indiquent un certain redressement des populations d’oiseaux d’eau, notamment des espèces coloniales qui ont pu bénéficier d’actions de conservation visant à réduire les persécutions et protéger leurs habitats. Ces tendances positives sont plus marquées en Europe, où les mesures de protection sont plus anciennes et nombreuses que dans le reste de la Méditerranée (Convention de Berne, directives européennes Oiseau et Habitats, Faune, Flore, Convention de Ramsar, etc).

En revanche, les listes rouges révèlent des statuts de conservation particulièrement préoccupants pour les poissons d’eau douce, plantes, mollusques ou amphibiens des zones humides. Ce résultat peut être expliqué par l’existence de nombreuses espèces endémiques d’une petite aire géographique et/ou le mauvais état des habitats auxquels ces espèces sont associées (cours d’eau, mares temporaires).

Équipe

  • Responsable du projet : Thomas Galewski
  • Équipe impliquée : Élie Gaget, Nadège Popoff
  • Date du projet : depuis 2016

Partenaires

 

Pour aller plus loin