Mediterranean Waterbird network

(MWN)

Objectives

This aim of this project is to improve the quality and quantity of data from the international waterbird censuses (IWCs) that take place every year throughout the Mediterranean region. The results of this monitoring are directly used in the application of international initiatives (the Ramsar Convention and/or the African-Eurasian Waterbird Agreement (AEWA)). It also contributes to improving our knowledge and management of wetlands, in collaboration with different local and international partners.

Actions and methodology

This network emerged through cooperation between national IWC coordinators in North Africa (Morocco, Algeria, Tunisia, Libya, and Egypt) and France (Tour du Valat and the National Office for Hunting and Wildlife). It first worked to improve the quality of the censuses by providing economic, logistic, and technical assistance in those countries, while remaining open to discussion with other Mediterranean countries. The network proposes:

  • training for conducting censuses, and also for data entry and/or processing;
  • the creation of tools to improve the censuses in the long term (ornithological field guides, media for trainers, purchasing optical equipment, etc.);
  • promoting the efforts of those who participate in the network, with scientific and more general publications, as well as posters and talks at international conferences;
  • active collaboaration with other international networks on various activities and studies.

Results

Two major results have been made possible via the MWN:

  • the IWC North Africa database has been updated: more than 38,000 data items have been added to the data set used by Wetlands International to determine the trends of waterbird populations and their status;
  • more than 100 people have been trained during the annual training organised by the Tour du Valat/AAO BirdLife Tunisia team, as well as in the framework of a support project (2013-2016).

Team

  • Project leader: Laura Dami
  • Staff involved: Arnaud Béchet, Marie Suet, Clémence Deschamps,  Christophe Germain, Yves Kayser, Thomas Galewski, Élie Gaget. Pierre Defos Du Rau and Jean-Yves Mondain-Monval (ONCFS)
  • Date of project: since 2012

Partners

Technical partners

 

Financial partners

 

Publications & Réalisations

  • Dami L. et al. 2017. Overview of national IWC schemes around the Mediterranean: a call for more pan-Mediterranean collaboration. Poster présenté à l’Union Internationale des Biologistes du Gibier, France 2017.
  • Dami L. et al. 2017. Medwaterbirds network. Communication orale aux Journées Internationales des Oiseaux d’Eau et des Zones Humides, Maroc 2017.
  • Dami et al. 2017 Confiance et respect des besoins. Espaces Naturels n°59, Juillet-septembre 2017.
  • Sayoud M.S., Salhi H., Chalabi B., Allali A., Dakki M., Qninba A., El Agbani M.A., Azafzaf H., Feltrup-Azafzaf C., Dlensi H., Hamouda N., Abdel Latif Ibrahim W., Asran H., Abu Elnoor A., Ibrahim H., Etayeb K., Bouras E., Bashaimam W., Berbash A., Deschamps C., Mondain-Monval J.Y., Brochet A.L., Véran S., Defos du Rau P. 2016. The first coordinated trans-North African mid-winter waterbird census: The contribution of the International Waterbird Census to the conservation of waterbirds and wetlands at a biogeographical level. Biological Conservation 206:11–20. doi: 10.1016/j.biocon.2016.12.005
  • Dami L.et al.  2016. Needs and prospects for waterbird monitoring in the Mediterranean. European Bird Census Council, Allemagne.

Réseau Oiseaux d’Eau Méditerranée (ROEM)

Objectif du projet

Ce projet vise à améliorer la qualité et la quantité des données des dénombrements internationaux des oiseaux d’eau (DIOE) qui ont lieu chaque hiver à l’échelle de la Méditerranée. Les résultats de ces suivis servent directement à l’application des initiatives internationales (la convention de Ramsar et/ou l’accord sur la conservation des oiseaux migrateurs d’Afrique-Eurasie AEWA). Il contribue également à l’amélioration des connaissances et de gestion des zones humides, en collaboration avec différents partenaires locaux et internationaux.

Actions & méthodologie

Ce réseau est initialement né d’une coopération entre les coordinateurs nationaux des DIOE d’Afrique du Nord (Maroc, Algérie, Tunisie, Libye et Égypte) et en France (Tour du Valat et Office National de la Chasse et de la Faune sauvage). Il a d’abord travaillé à l’amélioration de la qualité des comptages en apportant une aide économique, logistique et technique dans ces pays, tout en restant ouvert aux échanges avec les autres pays de la Méditerranée. Le réseau propose :

  • des formations de comptage, mais aussi de saisie et/ou de traitement des données ;
  • la réalisation d’outils pour améliorer les comptages à long terme (guides ornithologiques, support à destination des formateurs, achat de matériel optique, etc) ;
  • la valorisation de l’effort des participants au réseau, avec des publications scientifiques et de diffusion mais aussi des communications écrites et orales aux conférences internationales ;
  • une collaboration active avec d’autres réseaux internationaux, en termes d’activités et d’études.

Résultats

Deux résultats majeurs ont été rendus possibles via le ROEM :

  • la mise à jour de la base de données des DIOE d’Afrique du Nord : plus de 38 000 données supplémentaires se sont ajoutées au jeu de données utilisé par Wetlands International pour déterminer la tendance des populations des oiseaux d’eau et leur statut ;
  • la formation de plus de 100 personnes lors de la formation annuelle donnée par l’équipe Tour du Valat/AAO BirdLife Tunisie ainsi que dans le cadre d’un projet d’appui (2013-2016).

Équipe

  • Responsable du projet : Laura Dami
  • Membres impliqués : Arnaud Béchet, Marie Suet, Clémence Deschamps,  Christophe Germain, Yves Kayser, Thomas Galewski, Élie Gaget. Pierre Defos Du Rau (ONCFS) et Jean-Yves Mondain-Monval (ONCFS)
  • Date du projet : depuis 2012

Partenaires

Partenaires techniques

Partenaires financiers

Publications & Réalisations

  • Dami L. et al. 2017. Overview of national IWC schemes around the Mediterranean: a call for more pan-Mediterranean collaboration. Poster présenté à l’Union Internationale des Biologistes du Gibier, France 2017.
  • Dami L. et al. 2017. Medwaterbirds network. Communication orale aux Journées Internationales des Oiseaux d’Eau et des Zones Humides, Maroc 2017.
  • Dami et al. 2017 Confiance et respect des besoins. Espaces Naturels n°59, Juillet-septembre 2017.
  • Sayoud M.S., Salhi H., Chalabi B., Allali A., Dakki M., Qninba A., El Agbani M.A., Azafzaf H., Feltrup-Azafzaf C., Dlensi H., Hamouda N., Abdel Latif Ibrahim W., Asran H., Abu Elnoor A., Ibrahim H., Etayeb K., Bouras E., Bashaimam W., Berbash A., Deschamps C., Mondain-Monval J.Y., Brochet A.L., Véran S., Defos du Rau P. 2016. The first coordinated trans-North African mid-winter waterbird census: The contribution of the International Waterbird Census to the conservation of waterbirds and wetlands at a biogeographical level. Biological Conservation 206:11–20. doi: 10.1016/j.biocon.2016.12.005
  • Dami L.et al.  2016. Needs and prospects for waterbird monitoring in the Mediterranean. European Bird Census Council, Allemagne.