Adaptive management of wetlands

Objectives

This project has multiple objectives:

  • Testing and validating management methodologies and approaches on pilot sites in the Camargue and elsewhere in the Mediterranean Basin;
  • Implementing management plans on the Tour du Valat’s properties and the Camargue Saltworks Lagoons and Marshes site;
  • Informing natural area managers and promoting sustainable, integrated and/or adaptive approaches to management and exploitation methods (e.g. hunting, livestock farming, and agricultural production) that contribute to the conservation of wetlands;
  • Creating tools to transfer the methodologies developed and tested.

Actions & methodology

In the aim of conserving biodiversity and improving the management of wetlands, we have tested management methodologies and approaches at various sites in the Camargue and elsewhere in the Mediterranean Basin.

We have continued to create methodology transfer tools using and disseminating Open Standards for the protection of nature and conservation of biodiversity in France and around the Mediterranean Basin. The project’s target sites are the Tour du Valat Estate, the Petit Saint Jean Estate, Le Verdier Marshes, the Camargue Saltworks Lagoons and Marshes, and the Gediz Delta. We have contributed to developing ecological assessments and management plans for wetlands, especially in partnership with the Conservatoire du littoral (French national coastal conservation agency).

 

Team

  • Project leader: Lisa Ernoul
  • Staff involved:  Damien Cohez, Nicolas Beck, Olivier Brunet, Thomas Galewski, Anthony Olivier, Brigitte Poulin, Marc Thibault, and Loïc Willm

Partners

Technical partners

Financial partners

Publications

Gestion adaptative des zones humides

Objectifs

Les objectifs de ce projet sont multiples :

  • Tester et valider des méthodologies et approches de gestion sur des sites pilotes en Camargue et dans le bassin méditerranéen ;
  • Mettre en œuvre les plans de gestion des propriétés de la Tour du Valat et du site des Étangs et marais des salins de Camargue ;
  • Informer les gestionnaires et promouvoir les approches de gestion et les modes d’exploitation (ex. chasse, élevage, production agricole) durables, intégrés et/ou adaptatifs qui contribuent à la conservation des zones humides ;
  • Créer des outils pour le transfert des méthodologies développées et testées.

Actions & méthodologie

Dans l’objectif de préserver la biodiversité et d’améliorer la gestion des zones humides, nous avons testé des méthodologies et approches de gestion sur divers sites en Camargue et dans le bassin méditerranéen.

Nous avons continué de créer des outils de transfert des méthodologies avec l’utilisation et la diffusion des Normes ouvertes pour la protection de la nature pour la conservation de la biodiversité en France et autour du bassin méditerranéen. Les sites ciblés par ce projet sont la Tour du Valat, le Petit Saint Jean, les Marais du Verdier, les Étangs et marais des salins de Camargue et le delta de Gediz. Nous avons contribué à l’élaboration de diagnostics écologiques et de plans de gestion de zones humides, notamment en partenariat avec le Conservatoire du littoral.

Équipe

  • Responsable du projet  : Lisa Ernoul
  • Membres impliqués :  Damien Cohez, Nicolas Beck, Olivier Brunet, Thomas Galewski, Anthony Olivier, Brigitte Poulin, Marc Thibault, Loïc Willm

Partenaires

Partenaires techniques

Partenaires financiers

Publications & Réalisations