Objectives

Bringing together a consortium of 40 research institutes, the aim of the European Ecopotential project is to monitor and model the status and trends of ecosystems and the services they provide by focusing on twenty pilot sites, including the Camargue Biosphere Reserve (project website).

Map of the European Ecopotential project study sites (click to zoom)

The methodology employed is based on the utilisation/acquisition of field and satellite data, which are exploited using innovative geostatistical and macro-system ecology approaches.

The project has two goals:

  •  To develop remote sensing tools for monitoring trends in Camargue wetlands,
  •  To preserve the functions and services provided by Camargue wetlands.

Context

The Camargue Biosphere Reserve in the Rhone Delta covers 1930 km2 in the south of France, 480 km2 of which are in the Mediterranean Sea. There are several emblematic wetlands including salt meadows, reed beds, lagoons, freshwater marshes, wet meadows, semi-permanent brackish marshes, and temporary ponds. These habitats are interspersed with agrosystems dominated by rice farming and salt production.

About 730 million m3 of freshwater are pumped from the Rhone into the delta every year through a complex network of irrigation and drainage canals to compensate for the diking of the river and prevent the salinization of the soil.

This freshwater is mainly used for rice farming, but it also contributes to maintaining or increasing the ecosystem services provided by wetlands such as ecotourism, biodiversity conservation, waterfowl hunting, professional and recreational fishing, as well as the harvesting of reeds and the grazing of Camargue bulls and horses. In the southern part of the delta, 100 million m3 of sea water are pumped into the lagoons to produce salt.

The fragile balance between the terrestrial, freshwater and saltwater ecosystems is threatened by climate changes, which will modify precipitation, evapotranspiration, the flow of the Rhone, and the sea level. World commodity market forces may also alter those in charge of exploiting natural resources, particularly the allocation of water.

Our challenge will be to maintain the biodiversity of Camargue wetlands and the services they provide, while preserving Mediterranean flora and fauna.

Flood duration of Camargue wetlands in months per year (2015-2017) as estimated by European Sentinel-2 satellite images, validated by field data (click to zoom)

Expected results

The Ecopotential project combines remote sensing and modelling to monitor and better understand the short- and long-term changes likely to affect Camargue wetland ecosystems and the services they provide to people.

Its goal is to facilitate the work of protected area managers, by providing them with ready to use tools that can link their on-site observations with remote sensing data.

The tools for mapping the total area covered by water on a monthly basis or the agricultural matrix (types of crops) on an annual basis, will thus be developed by using recent European Sentinel images and other satellite images. Climate estimates for 2050 and 2100 will be analysed to determine their impact on the hydrology of Camargue marshes and the whole Mediterranean Basin.

This information will be shared and used to promote management practices and ways to adapt among the different stakeholders concerned, and to identify the areas that are suitable for the restoration or creation of wetlands in the upcoming decades.

How wetlands in the Mediterranean Basin will have changed by 2100 if the current greenhouse gases trend continues (click to zoom)

Team

Project leaders: Brigitte Poulin and Ilse Geijzendorffer

Departments: Ecosystems and Mediterranean Wetlands Observatory

Staff involved: Samuel Hilaire, Gaëtan Lefebvre, Clément Merle, Lauren Redmond, and Loïc Willm.

Date of project: 2015 to 2019

Partners

Technical partners

Financial partner

This project has received funding from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under grant agreement No 641762.

Publication(s)

Geijzendorffer IR, van Teeffelen AJ, Allison H, Braun D, Horgan K, Iturrate-Garcia M, Santos MJ, Pellissier L, Prieur-Richard AH, Quatrini S, Sakai S. How can global conventions for biodiversity and ecosystem services guide local conservation actions?. Current Opinion in Environmental Sustainability. 2017 Dec 31;29:145-50.

Hummel C., Provenzale A., van der Meer J., Wijnhoven S., Nolte A., Poursanidis D., Janss G., Jurek M., Andresen M., Poulin B., Kobler J., Beierkuhnlein C., Honrado J., Razinkovas A., Stritih A., Bargmann T., Ziemba A., Bonet-García F., Adamescu M.C., Janssen G., Hummel H. 2017. Ecosystem services in European protected areas: Ambiguity in the views of scientists and managers? PLoS One. 2017 Nov 15;12(11):e0187143. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0187143. eCollection 2017.

Navarro LM, Fernández N, Guerra C, Guralnick R, Kissling WD, Londoño MC, Muller-Karger F, Turak E, Balvanera P, Costello MJ, Delavaud A. et al. Monitoring biodiversity change through effective global coordination. Current Opinion in Environmental Sustainability. 2017 Dec 31;29:158-69.

Perennou C., Guelmami A., Paganini M. Philipson P., Poulin B., Strauch A., Tottrup C., Truckenbrodt J., Geijzendorffer I.R. in press. Mapping Mediterranean wetlands with remote sensing: a good –looking map is not always a good map. In Elsevier Series: Advances in Ecological Research. Volume 58. Ecological Biomonitoring (Bohan D, Dumbrell A, Woodward G, Jackson M, eds).

Objectifs du projet

Regroupant un consortium de 40 instituts de recherche, le projet européen Ecopotential vise à suivre et modéliser l’état et les tendances des écosystèmes et des services qu’ils procurent en s’appuyant sur une vingtaine de sites pilotes, incluant la réserve de biosphère de Camargue (voir le site du projet).

Carte des sites d’étude du projet européen Ecopotential (cliquer pour agrandir)

La méthodologie repose sur l’utilisation/acquisition de données terrain et aéroportées exploitée, selon des approches innovantes en géostatistique et écologie des macro-système.

L’objectif du projet est double :

  • Développer des outils en télédétection pour suivre l’évolution des zones humides de Camargue,
  • Préserver la fonctionnalité et les services rendus par les zones humides de Camargue

Contexte

La réserve de Biosphère de Camargue (delta du Rhône) couvre 1930 km2 dans le sud de la France, dont 480 km2 en mer Méditerranée. On y trouve plusieurs zones humides emblématiques incluant des sansouires, des roselières, des lagunes, des marais d’eau douce, des prairies humides, des marais saumâtres semi-permanents et des mares temporaires. Ces milieux sont entrecoupés d’agrosystèmes dominés par les rizières et les salins.

Par un réseau complexe de canaux d’irrigation et de drainage, environ 730 millions m3 d’eau douce sont pompés depuis le Rhône chaque année à l’intérieur du delta, pour compenser l’endiguement du fleuve et éviter la salinisation du sol.

Cette eau douce est principalement utilisée pour la riziculture, mais contribue également à maintenir ou augmenter les services écosystémiques associés aux zones humides tels que l’écotourisme, la conservation de la biodiversité, la chasse au gibier d’eau, la pêche professionnelle et de loisir, la récolte du roseau et le pâturage par les taureaux et les chevaux de Camargue. Dans la partie sud du delta, 100 millions de m3 d’eau de mer sont pompés à l’intérieur des lagunes pour la production du sel.

L’équilibre fragile entre les écosystèmes terrestres et aquatiques d’eau douce et salée est menacé par les changements climatiques qui modifieront à la fois les précipitations, l’évapotranspiration, le débit du Rhône et le niveau de la mer. Les forces du marché mondial peuvent également modifier les patrons d’exploitation des ressources et notamment l’allocation de la ressource en eau.

Le défi consiste donc à maintenir la diversité des zones humides de Camargue et de leurs services, tout en préservant la flore et la faune méditerranéennes.

Durée d’inondation des zones humides de Camargue en mois par année pour la période 2015-2017 telle qu’estimée par des images du satellites européen Sentinel2 validées avec des données terrain (cliquer pour agrandir)

Résultats attendus

Le projet ECOPOTENTIAL associe télédétection et modélisation, afin de suivre et appréhender au mieux les changements à court et long terme susceptibles d’affecter les écosystèmes humides de Camargue et les services qu’ils procurent à l’Homme.

L’objectif est de faciliter le travail des gestionnaires des aires protégées, en leur fournissant des outils prêts-à-l’emploi permettant de relier leurs observations in situ avec des données de télédétection.

Ainsi, des outils pour cartographier les superficies en eau sur une base mensuelle, ou la matrice agricole (types de cultures) sur une base annuelle, seront développés en utilisant entres autres les satellites européens récents (Sentinel). Les projections climatiques à l’horizon 2050 et 2100 seront analysées pour déterminer leur impact sur l’hydrologie des marais de Camargue et de l’ensemble du pourtour méditerranéen.

Ces informations seront partagées et utilisées pour promouvoir des modes de gestion et d’adaptation auprès des différents acteurs, et identifier les secteurs propices à la restauration ou création de zones humides pour les prochaines décennies.

Évolution des zones humides du bassin méditerranéen à l’horizon 2100 si la tendance actuelle des émissions de gaz à effet de serre se poursuit (cliquer pour agrandir)

Équipe

Responsable du projet  : Brigitte Poulin & Ilse Geijzendorffer

Départements : Écosystèmes et Observatoire des zones humides méditerranéennes

Membres impliqués : Samuel Hilaire, Gaëtan Lefebvre, Clément Merle, Lauren Redmond, Loïc Willm.

Dates du projet : 2015 à 2019

Partenaires

Partenaires techniques

Partenaire financier

Ce projet a reçu le soutien financier du programme de recherche et d’innovation Horizon 2020 de l’Union européenne, avec l’agrément n° 641762.

Publication(s)

Geijzendorffer IR, van Teeffelen AJ, Allison H, Braun D, Horgan K, Iturrate-Garcia M, Santos MJ, Pellissier L, Prieur-Richard AH, Quatrini S, Sakai S. How can global conventions for biodiversity and ecosystem services guide local conservation actions?. Current Opinion in Environmental Sustainability. 2017 Dec 31;29:145-50.

Hummel C., Provenzale A., van der Meer J., Wijnhoven S., Nolte A., Poursanidis D., Janss G., Jurek M., Andresen M., Poulin B., Kobler J., Beierkuhnlein C., Honrado J., Razinkovas A., Stritih A., Bargmann T., Ziemba A., Bonet-García F., Adamescu M.C., Janssen G., Hummel H. 2017. Ecosystem services in European protected areas: Ambiguity in the views of scientists and managers? PLoS One. 2017 Nov 15;12(11):e0187143. doi: 10.1371/journal.pone.0187143. eCollection 2017.

Navarro LM, Fernández N, Guerra C, Guralnick R, Kissling WD, Londoño MC, Muller-Karger F, Turak E, Balvanera P, Costello MJ, Delavaud A. et al. Monitoring biodiversity change through effective global coordination. Current Opinion in Environmental Sustainability. 2017 Dec 31;29:158-69.

Perennou C., Guelmami A., Paganini M. Philipson P., Poulin B., Strauch A., Tottrup C., Truckenbrodt J., Geijzendorffer I.R. in press. Mapping Mediterranean wetlands with remote sensing: a good –looking map is not always a good map. In Elsevier Series: Advances in Ecological Research. Volume 58. Ecological Biomonitoring (Bohan D, Dumbrell A, Woodward G, Jackson M, eds).