Conservation Evidence

Objectives

The aim of the Conservation Evidence project is to sum up the scientific results of the effects of wetland plant management methods for conservation purposes. What measures can we take to conserve plants or restore wetland vegetation? Which management actions/methods work? Which actions/methods have never been tested out scientifically? The summaries we write need to be accessible to a wide range of users, particularly wetland managers, researchers, and the general public. We hope that they will be systematically used to make conservation decisions based on scientific results.

This project at the Tour du Valat is part of a broader project, Conservation Evidence, which is based at the University of Cambridge. The team aims to produce summaries of evidence for all kinds of species and habitats. The summaries currently available concern the conservation of amphibians, bats, birds, and forests, and sustainable agriculture in Mediterranean regions.

 

Actions and methodology

There are five principal steps for producing the synopsis of wetland conservation:

  • Gathering scientific literature: we systematically search in scientific journals and conservation reports, search the document database already established by the Conservation Evidence project, and ask an advisory committee to recommend additional documents and reports.
  • Writing summaries: we write short, simple summaries of the principal results of each article. We also write key messages that sum up the scientific results for each possible conservation action.
  • Peer reviews: we ask experts to review our summaries to make sure they are accurate and complete. We also ask a panel of experts to assess each intervention, on the basis of the scientific results we have found, in terms of effectiveness, confidence level, and possible side effects.
  • Publications (see below).
  • Communication: we announce when summaries are finished, and more generally communicate on the importance of making conservation decisions based on scientific results. The Conservation Evidence project works in close collaboration with conservation organisations and scientific journals, attends international conferences, and has an active Twitter account.

Results

Our summaries of “what works” for wetland conservation will be available for free on the Conservation Evidence page. Although they are written in English, there is a tool on the site for translations into French!

Team

  • Project leader: Patrick Grillas
  • Staff involved: Nigel Taylor, François Mesléard
  • Date of project: 2017-2020

 

Partners

Technical partners

Financial partners

Conservation Evidence

Objectifs du projet

Le projet Conservation Evidence vise à résumer les résultats scientifiques des effets des méthodes de gestion de la végétation des zones humides à des fins de conservation. Quelles mesures pouvons-nous prendre pour conserver les plantes ou restaurer la végétation des zones humides ? Quelles actions/méthodes de gestion fonctionnent ? Quelles actions/méthodes n’ont jamais été testées scientifiquement ? Les résumés sont destinés à être accessibles à un éventail d’utilisateurs, notamment les gestionnaires de zones humides, les chercheurs et le grand public. Nous espérons qu’ils seront systématiquement utilisés pour prendre des décisions de conservation fondées sur des résultats scientifiques.

Ce projet à la Tour du Valat fait partie d’un projet plus large, « Conservation Evidence », basé à l’Université de Cambridge (Royaume-Uni). L’équipe a pour but de produire des résumés de preuves pour toutes sortes d’espèces et d’habitats. Les résumés disponibles actuellement concernent entre autres sujets la conservation des amphibiens, la conservation des chauves-souris, la conservation des oiseaux, la conservation des forêts et l’agriculture durable dans les régions méditerranéennes.

Actions & méthodologie

Il y a cinq étapes principales pour produire le synopsis de la conservation des zones humides :

  • Collecte de littérature scientifique : nous recherchons systématiquement dans des revues scientifiques et d’autres rapports de conservation, interrogeons la base de données de documents déjà établie par le projet Conservation Evidence, et demandons à un comité consultatif de recommander des documents et des rapports supplémentaires ;
  • Rédiger des résumés : nous écrivons de courts résumés simples des principaux résultats de chaque article. Nous écrivons également des messages clés résumant les résultats scientifiques pour chaque action de conservation possible ;
  • Revue critique : nous demandons aux experts d’examiner nos résumés pour leur exactitude et exhaustivité. Nous demandons également à un comité d’experts de noter chaque intervention, sur la base des résultats scientifiques que nous avons trouvés, en termes d’efficacité, de degré de confiance et d’éventuels effets secondaires ; Publication (voir ci-dessous) ;
  • Communication : nous annonçons les résumés finis, et plus généralement l’importance de prendre des décisions de conservation fondées sur des résultats scientifiques. Le projet Conservation Evidence travaille en étroite collaboration avec des organisations de conservation et des revues scientifiques, se rend à des conférences internationales et possède un compte Twitter actif.

Résultats

Nos résumés de « ce qui fonctionne » pour la conservation des zones humides seront disponibles gratuitement par téléchargement sous forme de e-livre. Bien que rédigés en anglais, il existe un outil sur le site pour les traductions en français !

Équipe

  • Responsable du projet : Patrick Grillas
  • Membres impliqués : Nigel Taylor, François Mesléard
  • Dates du projet : 2017-2020

Partenaires

Partenaires techniques

Partenaires financiers