- Tour du Valat - https://tourduvalat.org/en/ -

Olivier Boutron

Departement: Ecosystems

Position at the Tour du Valat: Hydrology/Hydraulics Scientist

Contact info: e-mail [1] | +33 (0)4 90 97 63 73

Personal page: Research Gate profile [2]

Joined our team: June 2010

Research interests and expertise

My research focuses on the functioning of Mediterranean lagoon hydrosystems in terms of water, salt, and temperature dynamics. I also study the catchment basins and coastal strips linked to these lagoons. Their functioning is characterised by setting up a network for making continuous measurements, and also by developing 2D and 3D hydrodynamic models.

The models I develop make it possible to test out the influence of different methods of water management (manipulations of hydraulic infrastructure and hydraulic works) on the hydrological, thermal, and saline regimes of the study sites. They are used to define the conservation, restoration, and management actions to be implemented on the sites. The midterm objective is to be able to use them to provide indications about the consequences of climate change on this functioning.

Another aspect of my research is characterising the influence of hydrology on the dynamics of the pathogenic agents, such as the avian flu virus, present in the water, a project carried out in collaboration with the Tour du Valat’s Species Department and its research on health ecology.

Current & past projects carried out at The Tour du Valat

Hydrological System Modelling [3]Adaptive Management of the Lagoons and Marshes on the former Camargue Saltworks site [4]
Study of the links between hydrology and pathogenic agents [5]Population dynamics of liver fluke in the Camargue [6]

Education

Publications

Find below the most recent publications of Olivier Boutron, or see the full list [7] on the Tour du Valat’s documentary web portal:

- Tour du Valat - https://tourduvalat.org -

Olivier BOUTRON

 

Département : Écosystèmes

Fonction à la Tour du Valat : chargé de recherche hydraulique/hydrologie

Contact : e-mail [1] / +33 (0)4 90 97 63 73

Page personnelle : profil Research Gate [2]

Date d’arrivée : juin 2010

Intérêts de recherche et expertise

Ma recherche porte sur le fonctionnement des hydrosystèmes lagunaires méditerranéens en termes de dynamiques de l’eau, du sel et de la température. Les bassins versants, ainsi que la frange marine en lien avec ces lagunes, sont également considérés. La caractérisation de ce fonctionnement se fait par la mise en place de réseau de mesures en continu, ainsi que par le développement de modèles hydrodynamiques 2D ou 3D.

Ces modèles permettent de tester l’influence de différentes gestions de l’eau (manipulations d’ouvrages hydrauliques, travaux hydrauliques, etc) sur le fonctionnement hydro-thermo-salin des sites étudiés. Ils sont ainsi utilisés pour définir des actions de conservation, restauration et gestion de sites. À moyen terme, l’objectif est de pouvoir les utiliser pour donner des indications quant aux conséquences du changement climatique sur ce fonctionnement.

Un autre aspect de ma recherche est de caractériser l’influence de l’hydraulique sur les dynamiques des agents pathogènes présents dans l’eau (grippe aviaire, …) en collaboration avec le département Espèces de la Tour du Valat et ses recherches sur l’écologie de la santé.

Projets actuels et passés menés à la Tour du Valat

Modélisation des hydrosystèmes [3]Gestion adaptative des étangs et marais des salins de Camargue [4]
Étude des liens entre hydrologie et agents pathogènes [5]Dynamique de la fasciolose en Camargue [6]

Formation initiale

Publications

Voir ci-dessous les dernières publications d’Olivier Boutron, ou la liste intégrale [7] sur le portail documentaire de la Tour du Valat en cliquant ici [7].