Partnerships – keys to our activities

Providing realistic responses to issues in the Mediterranean region, promoting and implementing integrated management processes, mobilising the most pertinent expertise, and funding projects. All our activities require the development of strategic relations with various organisations. Today, we conduct our activities in synergy with more than 300 partners throughout the Mediterranean Basin (research centres, NGOs, governmental or supra-governmental organisations, and foundations). Establishing these solid partnerships is indispensable for achieving our objectives, and we wish to thank all of our partners and financial backers.

Our financial partners

The Tour du Valat has created links with numerous financial partners at various levels, including the following:

International partners

  • European Union
  • CEPF- Critical Ecosystem Partnership Fund

National partners in France

  • Ministère de la Transition écologique et Solidaire et Dreal PACA (Ecological Transition and Solidarity Ministry and the Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur DREAL (Regional Directorate for Environment, Planning and Housing)
  • Ministry of Agriculture
  • Rhone-Mediterranean and Corsica Water Agency
  • French Biodiversity Agency (AFB)
  • French Development Agency (AFD)
  • ANRT – Association Nationale Recherche Technologie
  • CNRS – French National Research Centre

Territorial partners

  • Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur Region
  • Bouches-du-Rhône Departmental Council
  • Camargue Regional Natural Park

 

Our sponsors

The MAVA Foundation was created by Luc Hoffmann in 1994, with the mission of establishing solid partnerships so as to preserve biodiversity for future generations. The Tour du Valat is one of the key projects backed by the MAVA Foundation, from which it receives major support.

AccorHotels has been a partner of the Mediterranean Lagoons Transfer Unit since 2004, helping it celebrate World Wetlands Day and supporting its communication campaign that aims to promote events in Mediterranean lagoon territories. Its employees also participate every year in a project that promotes wetlands.

In the framework of a call for projects to fund doctoral theses linked to the notion of ‘risk,’ the AXA Research Fund has provided funding for the doctoral thesis Emerging infectious diseases in Mediterranean wetlands in the context of global changes.

At the beginning of 2017, the Axiome endowment fund signed a 5-year sponsorship agreement to support the awareness-raising missions of the Mediterranean Lagoons Transfer Unit, particularly those linked to World Wetlands Day and the European Heritage Days.

The CEPAC (bank) will continue to support our projects, funding an electric vehicle, the creation of agroforestry plots on the Petit Saint-Jean Estate, and an alternative mosquito control project that uses no insecticides.

After undergrounding the power lines that cross the Tour du Valat Regional Nature Reserve, an agreement was signed to promote this kind of action and to provide biodiversity training for ENEDIS agents. The Greater Flamingos programme received financial support from the ‘oxygen’ challenge.

 

The Daniel and Nina Carasso Foundation provided support to the Tour du Valat Foundation–through the Fondation de France’s ‘Ecosystems, Agriculture, and Food’ programme—for our project to create a showcase site for agroecology on the Petit Saint-Jean Estate in the Camargue.

The Fondation de France supports two multi-disciplinary research projects at the Tour du Valat. One is to develop a participative geographical information system for the Greater Flamingo that encourages a social and human approach to science. The second project, which focuses on agricultural production systems, seeks to develop a showcase site for agroecology on the Petit Saint-Jean Estate in the western Camargue.

The Heritage Foundation supports an agroforestry and agroecology project on the Petit Saint-Jean Estate, which aims to develop a showcase site for permaculture, with the of planting berry hedges and digging ponds, to create a model for the farming of tomorrow.

Grounded in the many common points linking the François Sommer Foundation and the Tour du Valat Foundation, a partnership has been established to develop and promote sustainable hunting practices, and engage in scientific activities that focus on wetland species.

The Gecina Foundation provides support for the Résifaune Health Ecology project, which aims to improve our understanding of the role played by wildlife in the circulation of antibiotic-resistant bacteria by studying those carried by rodents and gulls in different habitats in the Camargue.

The “Helping hand” programme sponsored by the Nature et Découvertes Foundation provided funding for a project to fit Eurasian Spoonbills with GPS tags. This project was carried out with the school in Le Sambuc (commune of Arles), and will follow their migrations to sub-Saharan Africa.

Since the Mediterranean Wetlands Observatory was set up, the Prince Albert II of Monaco Foundation has helped the Tour du Valat to assess the status and trends of wetlands in the Mediterranean Basin, in particular by developing indicators concerning their water resources and biodiversity.

Continuing our partnership initiated ten years ago, this year the Total Foundation provided support for our Greater Flamingo research programme. It also supported our monitoring of the Slender-Billed Gull, a modelling project on the site of the former saltworks in the Camargue, the monitoring of biodiversity in marshes, as well as the Mediterranean Wetlands Observatory.

In the framework of our development of a showcase site for permaculture on the Petit Saint-Jean Estate, which focuses on agroforestry and agroecology projects, the François Lemarchand Foundation is providing support for overhauling the irrigation network and developing niche crops.

HSBC Bank, a long-term sponsor of Earthwatch, which enables citizens to get involved in scientific research projects, has offered funding to the Tour du Valat Foundation for botanic inventory research on a rare species, Golden Garlic Allium moly, and an invasive exotic species of false indigo.

The Klorane Botanical Foundation and the Tour du Valat Foundation are both the work of visionaries committed to a harmonious relationship between Humanity and Nature: Pierre Fabre and Luc Hoffmann who knew and appreciated each other. The two foundations have a joint project to cultivate European Searocket (a medicinal plant) in the framework of the agroecology project on the Petit Saint-Jean Estate.

The LyondellBasell Group, a local actor in the petrochemical industry near the Etang de Berre and the Gulf of Fos, was one of the first corporate sponsors of the Tour du Valat Foundation. It has provided support for the Greater Flamingo project among others. Its geographical proximity has allowed it to participate in several nature clean-up projects, such as the eradication of invasive species on the Tour du Valat Estate.

The Oak Foundation, which focuses its actions on social and environmental issues of worldwide importance, made a contribution to the Tour du Valat, when Luc Hoffmann passed away in July 2016, to acknowledge his exceptional contributions.

 

In the aim of preserving a very rare plant species, Lythrum thesioides, which has been identified at only two sites in the Gard, a partnership was created with OC’VIA (construction company) and the SNCF (train company) to fund a doctoral thesis on the ecology of this species. During the three years of his doctoral research, Antoine Gazaix will conduct experimentations in controlled conditions and test management methods in order to make some recommendations. This project falls within the framework of the measures accompanying the construction of a high-speed train line.

In 2017, VINCI Autoroutes (ASF south of France motorway network) signed a three-year partnership agreement with the Tour du Valat, which is intended to support its Mediterranean Lagoons Transfer Unit. This partnership reflects a common desire to promote Mediterranean lagoon habitats for the employees and users of this motorway network, through the ASF radio station and exhibitions at motorway rest areas.


In the framework of an international partnership, WWF is working with Coca-Cola in its ‘Replenish’ programme. The aim is to give back to nature and communities the same amount of water as that used for the worldwide production of its drinks. In France, this commitment has resulted in a sponsorship agreement between Coca-Cola and WWF-France for a project aiming to improve the hydrological and biological exchanges in the lagoons and marshes on the former Camargue saltworks site. This area is jointly managed by the Tour du Valat, the French coastal protection agency (CdL), the Camargue Regional Natural Park, and the National Nature Protection Society (SNPN). The Tour du Valat coordinates the actions conducted in the framework of this project, based on specific site management guidelines.

Le partenariat, clé de voûte de notre action

Apporter des réponses réalistes aux enjeux en Méditerranée, promouvoir et mettre en œuvre des processus de gestion intégrée, mobiliser l’expertise la plus pertinente, financer les projets… Toutes ces actions exigent le développement de relations stratégiques avec diverses organisations. Aujourd’hui nos actions sont menées en synergie avec plus de 300 partenaires (centres de recherche, ONGs, organismes gouvernementaux ou supra-gouvernementaux, fondations) implantés sur l’ensemble du bassin méditerranéen. L’établissement de ces partenariats solides est une condition indispensable pour atteindre nos objectifs. Que l’ensemble de nos partenaires et nos mécènes soient ici remerciés.

Nos partenaires financiers

La Tour du Valat a noué des liens avec de nombreux partenaires financiers à différentes échelles géographiques. Parmi ceux-là citons

Partenaires internationaux

  • UNION EUROPÉENNE
  • CEPF- Fonds de Partenariat pour les Écosystèmes Critiques

Partenaires nationaux

  • Ministère de la Transition écologique et Solidaire et Dreal PACA
  • Ministère de l’Agriculture
  • Agence de l’Eau Rhône-Méditerranée-Corse
  • Agence Française de la Biodiversité
  • Agence Française de Développement
  • ANRT – Association Nationale Recherche Technologie
  • CNRS – Centre national de la recherche scientifique

Partenaires territoriaux

  • Région PACA
  • Conseil Départemental Bouches-du-Rhône
  • Parc naturel régional de Camargue

Nos mécènes

Créée par Luc Hoffmann en 1994, la Fondation MAVA a pour mission de fédérer des partenariats solides afin de conserver la biodiversité pour les générations futures. La Tour du Valat fait partie des projets phares soutenus par la Fondation MAVA, et bénéficie à ce titre d’un large soutien.

AccorHotels est partenaire du Pôle-relais lagunes méditerranéennes depuis 2004 pour célébrer les Journées mondiales des zones humides et soutient la campagne de communication visant à promouvoir les animations en territoires lagunaires méditerranéens. Ses collaborateurs participent également chaque année à un chantier valorisant les zones humides.

Dans le cadre d’un appel à projet pour le financement de thèses de doctorat en lien avec la notion de « risque », l’AXA Research Fund a financé une thèse intitulée « Maladies infectieuses Žémergentes au sein des zones humides méditerranéennes dans le contexte des changements globaux »

Le Fonds de Dotation Axiome Mécénat a signé une convention de mécénat pour 5 ans afin de soutenir le Pôle-relais lagunes méditerranéennes dans ses missions de sensibilisation, en particulier autour des Journées mondiales zones humides et des Journées européennes du patrimoine.

La CEPAC poursuit son engagement à nos côtés en soutenant le financement d’un véhicule électrique, la création de parcelles d’agroforesterie sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean ainsi qu’un projet de démoustication alternative, sans recours aux substances insecticides.

Après l’enfouissement de lignes électriques traversant la Réserve Naturelle Régionale de la Tour du Valat, une convention a été conclue pour promouvoir ce type d’action et former les agents d’ENEDIS (ex. ERDF) à la biodiversité. Le programme flamants roses a été soutenu à travers le challenge “oxygène”.

La Fondation Daniel et Nina Carasso a soutenu la Fondation de la Tour du Valat, à travers l’appel à projet « Écosystèmes, Agriculture et Alimentation » de la Fondation de France,  pour notre projet de création d’un site vitrine en agroécologie sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean, en Camargue gardoise.

La Fondation de France soutient deux projets de recherches pluridisciplinaires de la Tour du Valat. L’un privilégie une approche sociale et humaine, prenant comme vecteur le Flamant rose pour développer un Système d’Information Géographique participatif. Le second projet, appliqué aux systèmes de productions agricoles, vise à développer un site vitrine en agroécologie sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean, en Camargue gardoise.

La Fondation du Patrimoine soutient un projet d’agroforesterie et agroécologie sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean, visant à développer un site vitrine en permaculture, à travers la plantation de haie fruitières et le creusement de mares, afin d’être un exemple pour l’agriculture de demain.

Fort des nombreux points communs entre la Fondation François Sommer et la Fondation Tour du Valat, un partenariat s’est noué visant à développer et promouvoir des modalités de chasse durable, ainsi qu’à entreprendre des actions scientifiques sur les espèces des zones humides.

La Fondation Gecina apporte son soutien au projet d’écologie de la santé Résifaune qui vise à mieux comprendre le rôle de la faune sauvage dans la circulation des bactéries antibiorésistantes en étudiant celles portées par les rongeurs et les goélands au sein de différents habitats en Camargue.

Le programme « Coup de pouce » de la Fondation Nature et Découvertes a accompagné un projet d’équipement de deux balises GPS sur des spatules blanches, en lien avec l’’école du hameau du Sambuc (commune d’Arles), afin de suivre leurs migrations jusqu’en Afrique subsaharienne.

Depuis la mise en place de l’Observatoire des Zones Humides Méditerranéennes, la Fondation Prince Albert II de Monaco aide la Tour du Valat à dresser l’état et les tendances des zones humides du bassin méditerranéen, en particulier à travers l’élaboration d’indicateurs sur les ressources en eau et la biodiversité.

Poursuivant un partenariat initié voilà dix ans, la Fondation Total a soutenu cette année notre programme de recherche sur les flamants roses, le suivi des goélands railleurs, un projet de modélisation du site des anciens salins de Camargue, le suivi de la biodiversité dans les marais, ainsi que l’Observatoire des Zones Humides Méditerranéennes.

Dans le cadre du développement d’un site vitrine en permaculture sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean centré autour de projets d’agroforesterie et d’agroécologie, la Fondation François Lemarchand nous soutient pour la refonte du réseau d’irrigation et le développement de culture de niche.

La Banque HSBC, soutien historique de l’initiative Earthwatch, qui permet à des particuliers de soutenir en s’impliquant des projets de recherche, s’est impliqué auprès de la Fondation Tour du Valat sur des opérations d’inventaires botaniques, d’une espèce rare, le Petit ail doré, et d’une espèce exotique invasive, le Faux-indigo.

Klorane Botanical Foundation et la Fondation Tour du Valat sont toutes deux l’œuvre de personnalités visionnaires engagées pour une relation apaisée entre l’Homme et la Nature, Pierre Fabre et Luc Hoffmann, qui se connaissaient et s’appréciaient. Les deux fondations ont le projet de collaborer sur la culture de Cakile maritime (plante médicinale) dans le cadre du projet agroécologique sur le domaine du Petit Saint-Jean.

Le groupe LyondellBasell, acteur local de la pétrochimie de l’étang de Berre et du golfe de Fos, fut un des premiers mécènes industriels de la Fondation Tour du Valat. Il a notamment soutenu le projet Flamants roses. Sa proximité géographique a aussi permis plusieurs « chantiers nature » d’éradication d’espèces invasives sur le domaine de la Tour du Valat.

La Fondation OAK, qui focalise son action sur des enjeux sociaux et environnementaux d’importance mondiale, a apporté un soutien au programme de la Tour du Valat à l’occasion de la disparition de Luc Hoffmann, en reconnaissance de sa contribution exceptionnelle.

Dans l’objectif de la conservation d’une espèce végétale très rare, Lythrum thesioides, connue aujourd’hui sur seulement deux sites dans le Gard, un partenariat a été établi avec OC’VIA et SNCF pour le financement d’une thèse sur l’écologie de cette espèce. Antoine Gazaix, durant ses trois années de thèse mènera des expérimentations en conditions contrôlées et testera des méthodes de gestion afin de préconiser un certain nombre de recommandations. Ce projet s’inscrit dans le cadre de mesures d’accompagnement à la construction d’une voie TGV.

VINCI Autoroutes (réseau ASF- Autoroutes du Sud de la France) a signé en 2017 une convention de partenariat de 3 ans avec la Tour du Valat, visant à soutenir le Pôle-relais lagunes méditerranéennes. Ce partenariat s’inscrit dans un souhait commun de valorisation des milieux lagunaires de Méditerranée auprès des collaborateurs et des usagers des autoroutes, notamment via leur radio ou des expositions sur les aires d’autoroutes.


Dans le cadre d’un partenariat mondial le WWF est engagé auprès de Coca-Cola à travers son programme “Replenish”. Il s’agit ici de rendre aux communautés et à la nature, un volume d’eau équivalent à celui utilisé pour la production mondiale des boissons. Sur le territoire français, cet engagement s’est traduit par un mécénat entre Coca-Cola et le WWF-France pour un projet axé sur l’amélioration des échanges hydrauliques et biologiques sur le site des Étangs et Marais des Salins de Camargue, gérés conjointement par la Tour du Valat, le Conservatoire du Littoral, le Parc Naturel Régional de Camargue, et la Société Nationale de Protection de la Nature. La Tour du Valat coordonne les actions réalisées dans le cadre de ce projet, qui s’appuient sur la notice de gestion du site.